Wednesday, October 7, 2020

October IWSG: Working Writer and a Cover Reveal for the #LiftoffNovella

 


The Insecure Writer's Support Group is here for you, writers!
Come join us by posting and by visiting blogs by other writers.
Hosted by Founder: Alex J. Cavanaugh and an awesome group of co-hosts: Co-Hosts this month:

OPTIONAL QUESTION: When you think of the term working writer, what does that look like to you? What do you think it is supposed to look like? Do you see yourself as a working writer or aspiring or hobbyist, and if the latter of the two, what does that look like?

What I mean by a working writer is someone who works persistently at their craft, even if they've had a few weeks or days, or even longer, where they've had a sulking cranky-pants fuss at their own inability to create awesomesauce, marketable writing every time they sit down. By "they" I mean me. I've had those bad days.

A working writer hones their craft, finishes their work (at least to publishing standards of 95% error-free), and sends it out into the world in some form or fashion. By sending out into the world, I mean a working writer can submit their work to magazines, anthologies, news outlets, traditional publishers, small press publishers; Or, the working writer can send their work into the world via blogging, social media, online forums, fan forums, and self-publishing platforms. This doesn't mean a working writer finds acceptance for every piece, or gets glowing reviews for every published item. A working writer keeps writing, finishing, and sending out work.

My insecurity these last few months: even though I've done it before, do I still know how to self-publish a book? And, can I do it "right?" That last question gets under my skin, but I am working at doing my best. 

Today, I'm hosting my Cover Reveal for Liftoff: Book 1 of The Rayatana Series! This cover was brilliantly created by Carrie Butler, author and designer.


 LIFTOFF
The Rayatana, Book 1


A fast-paced read for fans of Code 8, Captain Marvel, and Cobra Kai.

An old movie theater welcomes Amaya in and wraps her up in the smell of popcorn and licorice. But one sunny afternoon during a matinee, the movie screen goes dark. The theater rumbles.

A spaceship in disguise,
An Earth girl searching for a sense of home,
And a Thousand Years’ War between alien races of The Great Galaxy
All collide on a summer afternoon.

When the spaceship rumbles to life, it traps Amaya in the middle of an ancient alien conflict. Angry and frightened, Amaya entangles herself in a life-changing cultural misunderstanding with Sol, a young alien who keeps omitting key information, even while they’re on the run from his enemies. 
What will it take to survive a battle between alien races involved in an ancient war? 

Liftoff is an action-packed science fiction novella for teen/YA book lovers who enjoy space battles, fistfights, and a hint of romance.
Release Date: November 10, 2020
Paperback ISBN: ISBN: 978-0-9889933-8-9 
Ebook ISBN: ISBN: 978-0-9889933-9-6
Cover Artist: Carrie Butler
Editor: Chrys Fey

Pre-Order Price: 99 cents. Pre-order for Kindle Here.

To enter a hashtag giveaway for a chance to win an eCopy, post on Twitter or Instagram with #liftoffnovella and one of the following messages and/or images:

A spaceship in disguise, an Earth girl searching for a sense of home, and a Thousand Years’ War between alien races all collide one summer afternoon at the movies. #liftoffnovella

Girl meets alien boy at the movies in the middle of an ancient conflict. #liftoffnovella

And add a photo of your choice from the cover image or these:



In a completely unrelated way, I'm hosting a challenge on social media sites: #101daysgratitude. If you'd like to join, you can join anytime and post as often as you would like. If you use the hashtag, I will be able to find your posts on Instagram and Twitter. 



The next #IWSGPit is coming early in 2021. Are you ready?



35 comments:

Ronel Janse van Vuuren said...

The cover looks good!
I agree about your definition of a working writer :-)

Ronel on IWSG day Revamp Your Backlist

Natalie Aguirre said...

Congrats on your cover! It's awesome. I understand your insecurity. I'd be worried about doing it right anytime I had a book published--self-published or traditionally. That's one reason I may stay a hobbyist.

Melissa said...

Carrie is very talented. Good luck with your book! And thanks for co-hosting.

Madeline Mora-Summonte said...

Ha ha ha! This is so me! - "What I mean by a working writer is someone who works persistently at their craft, even if they've had a few weeks or days, or even longer, where they've had a sulking cranky-pants fuss at their own inability to create awesomesauce, marketable writing every time they sit down." :)

Good luck with the new book!

Cathrina Constantine said...

Awesome Cover Reveal, Tyrean!! The blurb sounds intriguing!

Jemi Fraser said...

Love the cover and I've preordered my copy!! Looking forward to it!

Nick Wilford said...

I tweeted! What a fantastic premise and great cover. The first thing it made me think was "cinema", so I guess Carrie did a good job.

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

The cover is great! Captures the story.

cleemckenzie said...

In spite of those insecurities, it seems as if you're doing a great job, Tyrean. Huge congratulations.

M.J. Fifield said...

"Do I still know how to self-publish a book?" <---I so feel this. It takes me so long to finish a project that I feel like I have to relearn the entire process over and over again.

Congrats on the new cover! It looks great!

Leigh Caron said...

Congratulations on your cover and release. When I was a copywriter I wasn't insecure because I wouldn't have gotten the job if the client didn't like and trust my work. And got paid quickly But writing a novel..well that's a whole of insecurity there. And then there's the marketing. EH!

Loni Townsend said...

Woot! Great looking cover. I hope it's a smashing success!

Patricia Josephine aka Patricia Lynne said...

I love that cover. It is gorgeous.

L. Diane Wolfe said...

That is a really fun cover.

emaginette said...

Congrats! Looks like you remember enough. hehehe

Anna from elements of emaginette

Elizabeth Mueller said...

What a lovely cover for Liftoff! I so get your insecurity about getting the book right! Mine would be with the editing department!

♥.•*¨Elizabeth Mueller¨*•.♥

Chrys Fey said...

I like (and appreciate) your idea of a working writer. :)

Congratulations on the cover reveal for Liftoff. It's super clever. Carrie did a fabulous job.

Olga Godim said...

Lovely cover, Tyrean.
I agree with your definition of a working writer.

Lynda R Young as Elle Cardy said...

The beauty of self publishing is that if you get it wrong, you can fix it.

Fundy Blue said...

The cover is awesome, Tyrean! And I love the concept of your book. Thanks for the 99 cents preorder offer. I preordered, But, I'll probably go for a print edition since I hate reading ebooks. Good luck with your book!

Adrienne Reiter said...

Awesome premise and great cover. Congrats. I too am a cranky pants. Great post. Happy IWSG!

Jenni said...

This was such an encouraging post! By your definition, I am a working writer. It just sometimes seems like my day job takes over my life (and my brain)!
Congrats on your new release! It sounds amazing. I love YA Scifi. I preordered a copy.

Debs said...

Tyrean, I like your definition of working writer, especially your use of the word "craft" for I'm still at the stage when I'm working as much on the craft of writing as the actually writing itself!

Love the cover of your new book :)

Elizabeth Seckman said...

I think I looked at working writer all wrong. LOL. I like your thinking way better.

Congratulations on the new book! Carrie did an awesome job with the cover. I haven't done much on social media lately, but I'll happily give you a shout out next blog post.

Lynn J Simpson said...

The cover looks wonderful! I also like the way you define a working writer. By working to get better at our craft, we are "working" no matter if no financial gain or income statements are required at this time.

Annalisa Crawford said...

Love the cover! Good luck with the launch. I'm sure you'll settle down into the swing of things again, re the whole self-publishing thing - like riding a bike, maybe? :-)

Steven Arellano Rose Jr. said...

The cover looks really neat and the novella seems to have a good plot. Your definition of "working writer" is a really well thought one. Dedication in serious writing is one of the most important things in a writing career.

Rebecca M. Douglass said...

Nice cover! And I agree-- you write, you're a working writer.

And... of course you can do the self-publishing thing again. Though I keep asking myself why I don't make a detailed list of the steps. I managed to do that for conversions to Large Type, but not for the initial process.

Shannon Lawrence said...

Awesome cover! I've definitely had some sulky, cranky-pantsness going on lately.

Sonia Dogra said...

That's an intriguing cover. Your definition of a working writer is ❤️
I'd like to go with it.

Diane Burton said...

Good definition of a working writer. Love the cover & premise of your new book--made me pre-order it. :)

Steph W. said...

Those insecurities! Sigh. If only there were a cure. But I suppose the alternative would be narcissism?

Gwen Gardner said...

I always wonder if I'm publishing correctly too. Sigh. Maybe there isn't any one right way. Congrats on your new release, it looks awesome!

Nicki Elson said...

Tweeted! One thing you're definitely doing right with self pubbing is to make it super easy for others to share about your book - I appreciate it. And CONGRATS on the upcoming publication. Sounds great.

I might be back for the 101 days of gratitude, too...once I feel I can legitimately probably commit to posting every day for 101 days.

Yvonne Ventresca said...

Love the cover! Congrats!